BarberEVO Magazine

Be part of the Barber EVOlution

Professional Beauty Association Reveals 2022 North American Hairstyling Awards Barber of the Year Finalists and their Collections

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) is honored to announce the 33rd annual North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA) finalists. NAHA is the most prestigious professional beauty competition in North America and honors the salon industry’s top artists who push the boundaries of skill and artistry.

For the 2022 awards, the men’s haircutting category has changed to the Barber of the Year Award, giving more emphasis on the skillset associated with the trade of barbering.

“The 2022 North American Hairstyling Award finalists showcase excellence, creativity, and technical ability,” shares Nina Daily, PBA’s Executive Director. “Year after year, we continue to be amazed by the level of talent and elevated artistry shown by these artists.”

To win a coveted NAHA award, artists submit their collections, the Barber of the Year Category is just one out of 14 categories. Development of these collections often take months of envisioning, planning, and shooting. Collections are judged anonymously in three rounds by a panel of esteemed hairdressers, makeup artists, educators, and experts–including Serge Normant, Danilo, Sam Villa, Vernon François, Robert Ham, Antoinette Beenders, Kevin Murphy, Michael DeVellis, Kris Sorbie, Errol Douglas, Tabatha Coffey, Robert Lobetta, Tippi Shorter, and more.

The finalists for the Barber of the Year Category are:

Amanda Dassel

Ammon Carver

Kenny Duncan

Navin Ramgoolam

Tyler Kelbert

The competition culminates in an industry wide celebration of artistry at the NAHA ceremony where winners are announced on Sunday, January 30, 2022, at the Long Beach Convention Center Terrace Theater in Los Angeles County and streamed live at The 2022 NAHA ceremony kicks off with a red-carpet reception from 6:00–8:00 p.m. PST, followed by the awards, featuring artistic presentations from Aveda, L’Oréal Professional Products Division USA, 2021 NAHA Hairstylist of the Year Silas Tsang, and Truss Professional, from 8:00-10:30 p.m. PST.

Tickets for the 2022 ceremony are available at, with special pricing for Professional Beauty Association members.

Show More